RSS

Django-chat using xmpp

29 Jul

XMPP IM Client

So i started building an IM client app. It’s based on Django, python, Strophe, jquery, etc… Does the world need another Instant Messaging app? Who knows? My motivation is purely for the sake of learning the innards of XMPP. Very selfish.

So far it has been good. I’m using a really well written book authored by MetaJack and implementing all the tutorials. Learning by doing i guess.

Progress?

After my first day i already had a basic single user chat going. Now its nothing special but WOW is it fun. I only chat to my wife btw. There is something addictive about building an app and taking little steps forward. The more i code the more fun I have.

End Goal?

G-Talk is not what I’m after. A usable web app is the destination and it seems reachable everyday. If i get to learn some awesome new tech and get some friends to use it then good for me. Also this is sort of my baptism into “Dream, Build and Release”.

Dream, Build and Release?

So the whole idea is too stop procrastinating and actually do something. People (myself included) are always talking about what they want to do but never act on it. Django-chat is my move towards action.

Anyway… goto to github and take a look at the code if you are interested.

You will here more about Django-chat over the next few weeks.

DEADLINE FOR LAUNCH: 31 August 2011

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
